DEPTH – DEEP & SHALLOW

I had such a splendid time this week experimenting with aperture, I realized that I could make my images crisp and clean, as well as get some really nice creamy bokeh in close up shots. I took a lot of photos this week, to really challenge myself and see what I could do. I spent a lot of time in St. Anthony and around Rexburg to see what would make the best aperture photos! I came up with these 6 photos, and I’m really proud of them.

 

DEEP

allysonclifton-windows

Artistic Windows: 01/29/17 – 4:51 pm – St. Anthony, FL 50mm, f/22, SS 1/500, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

I saw these old windows, at an old hotel in St. Anthony. I wanted to capture both windows but realized that my camera would focus on the bottom one which is further out than the above one. I changed my aperture to a higher number and came out with this photo. I then went into Photoshop to remove some unwanted things, then went into Lightroom to make it crisp and sharp.

allysonclifton-hotel

Hotel: 01/29/17 – 4:50 pm – St. Anthony, FL 50mm, f/22, SS 1/2000, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

This was also taken in St. Anthony. I wanted the background to be sharp with the image, so I did the same as the above image. This was took a little bit more skill, because there was so much to capture in the background. I then went into Lightroom to straighten and give the photo an antique look.

allysonclifton-highaperture

Modern Fence: 01/31/17 – 5:16 pm – Rexburg, FL 27mm, f/10, SS 1/100, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

This was a photo that I took in Rexburg just behind my house, my neighbor has this beautiful fence and there’s tree’s surrounding it. I noticed that I wasn’t able to get this photo as crisp as the above ones, but I was able to mainly get everything in focus. I then went into Lightroom to straighten the photo.

 

SHALLOW

allysonclifton-fencefocus

Blocked: 01/31/17 – 5:15 pm – Rexburg, FL 38mm, f/4.8, SS 1/80, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

I found a fence with a hole in it around Rexburg and took this photo and the one below. I wanted to show the difference between focusing on the wood and focusing on the tree. I think I did a really good job of getting nice bokeh as well as sharpness.

allysonclifton-tree-focus

Looking Through: 01/31/17 – 5:15 pm – Rexburg, FL 38mm, f/4.8, SS 1/80, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

allysonclifton-Shallowaperturenails

Rusted Nails, 01/31/17 – 5:17 pm – Rexburg, FL 48mm, f/5.3, SS 1/100, Nikon D3300 Natural Lighting

This photo took a lot of work, I had to turn the aperture to a fairly low number to even attempt to get the nails in focus, I originally only wanted the nails in focus but ended up getting some of the wood as well. I then went into Lightroom to bring the colors in the wood and nails out.

 

 

3 thoughts on “DEPTH – DEEP & SHALLOW

  1. brock.alli says:

    You killed it girl!! Great examples of depth and consistent color scheme! The nail shot is a great detail and fun perspective of the fence! Your shallow depth with the tree in the back is so sweet! By first glance you could almost mistake it for a square tree! haha! looks like you traveled a little to get these shots, and it definitely paid off!

    I posted some photos of my sister’s wedding check them here:
    https://brockalli.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/depth/

    Have you seen alex’s blog? He’s got some great shots too!
    https://alexbulloch.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/shallow-depth-and-deep-depth-of-field/

    Like

Leave a Reply

