MOTION – FREEZE and BLUR

BLUR

There was a lot of learning that went into this project, and it was really helpful to learn how to shoot in shutter priority mode. It was a whole new experience to me, and I was able to understand how much influence the photographer has in a shot. I normally wouldn’t take blurry photos because I normally photograph people, and it’s a huge no to do that, but I had fun creating these images and realizing that after I got the hang of it I could create some remarkable things.

Blurred Dice: 01/26/17, 1:47 am, Rocky Mountain Duplex, FL 38.00 mm, f/6.3, camera-tripod

Blurred Dice: 01/26/17, 1:47 am, Rocky Mountain Duplex, FL 38.00 mm, f/6.3, camera-tripod

This photo took me try after try, and this was the most creative rolling dice picture I could get. I had to set the tripod to a really low height and continuously roll the dice over and over again. This was the final product, I turned in black and white in Lightroom to give it more of a bright effect.

allysonclifton-blurredpages

Blurred Pages: 01/25/17, 2:00 pm, Rocky Mountain Way Duplex, FL 30.00mm, f/5.6, Shutter Priority, Camera-Tripod

This shot was actually fairly easy, I wanted to catch the pages blurring, so I put my shutter speed down low and used my hand to rustle the pages. This was the end result, I then brightened up the colors in Lightroom.

 

MOTION

allysonclifton-floatingdice

Floating Dice: 01/23/17, 6:30 pm, Rocky Mountain Way Duplex, FL 20.00mm, f/3.8, Shutter Priority, Camera-Natural Lighting

I took this photo too late at night with not enough light, which is why it’s grainy and in black and white, I edited it in Lightroom. I realized that when taking a photo I need to have better time management. I think even with everything that went wrong that the dice turned out really clear, I will definitely try to recreate this picture soon.

allysonclifton-fire

Moving Fire: 12/23/17, 7:00 pm, Rocky Mountain Way Duplex, FL 55.00mm, f/5.6, Shutter Priority, Camera-Natural Lighting

I initially wanted to take this photo with a lighter but thought the matches would give it a cooler vibe. I had my husband hold the matched and turned up the shutter speed, this took out all remaining light in the background only leaving what the fire lit up. I went in and softened up the skin in lightroom, as well as brightened the colors in the fire.

 

One thought on “MOTION – FREEZE and BLUR

Leave a Reply

